Whether you are facing jail time, fines or other penalties, you need someone with experience who can explain your options and the personal attention and compassion to guide you through this stressful time. When you call our office you will speak with an experienced attorney to go over your needs, and we will assemble a team specifically tailored to achieve your goals. Biggs & Gunst is here for you in your time of need. Below are just a few examples of cases our attorneys frequently handle. Contact us today to receive a free consultation and ensure that your rights are protected. We offer flexible payment options including fixed prices for many types of cases.
OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED
In Michigan, it is against the law to drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 or above, and drivers face higher consequences with a blood alcohol content of .17 or above. Even if you are under .08, but are visibly impaired, you can still be charged with a drinking and driving crime.
Our team of experienced attorneys have we have represented first-time offenders to fifth-time offenders, so we understand the process and the law.Drunk driving charges come with steep penalties. Contact us to learn your options.
ASSAULT & BATTERY
Assault and battery can be anything from a barroom fight to a slight push. There are many options with an assault and battery charge.
Domestic violence is a crime that is often wrongly charged, likely because of the relationships and dynamics involved between parties in the offense.
Trespassing is entry onto another person’s land without permission. Michigan state law forbids trespassing and contains provisions for trespassing in specific situations. In addition, townships and cities generally have ordinances prohibiting trespassing.
When a person performs an act toward the commission of a crime but fails to complete the crime or is caught before completion that person can be charged with attempt to commit that crime.
The crime of disorderly persons, sometimes referred to as disorderly conduct, a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail, a $500 fine, or both. In addition, most townships have an ordinance similar to the state disorderly persons law. Disorderly conduct is extremely broad and can come in many forms ranging from begging and vagrancy, engaging in indecent or obscene conduct, refusing to care for ones family, prostitution, window peeping, and many other situations.
Driving with a suspended or revoked license
The misdemeanor charge of driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license is one of the most common motor vehicle crimes that is charged. A driver faces up to 93 days in jail, a $500 fine, or both, in addition to two points assessed on the driver’s license, and a $500 driver’s responsibility fee to be paid for two consecutive years for a first offense. A second or subsequent offenses risks faces jail time of up to one year, a $1,000 fine, or both, in addition to two points assessed on the license, and a $500 driver’s responsibility fee to be paid for two consecutive years. Additionally, vehicle immobilization or impoundment may follow a conviction.
Firearm charges can range from altering or removing a firearms identity, carrying without a license, unlawfully discharging a firearm, to possessing a lawful firearm in a prohibited place, and many more. Equally broad are the potential charges faced, from the loss of ability to own a firearm to murder. Contact our experienced team to discuss your rights and options.
A reckless driving conviction is punishable by up to a $500 fine, 93 days in jail, or both. In addition, a total of $1,000 will be assessed in driver’s responsibility fees by the Secretary of State. Six points are added to driver’s record. A first offense results in a mandatory 90 day license suspension, and two convictions within seven years results in license revocation.
An individual who assaults, batters, wounds, resists, obstructs, opposes, or endangers a police officer who the individual knows is performing his or her police duties is guilty of a felony, punishable by up to 2 years imprisonment, a $2,000 fine, or both.
Minor In Possession
In Michigan, a person under the age of 21 may not possess or consume alcohol, except under limited circumstances. The Minor in Possession charge has become a staple of college student life, but there are ways to fight an MIP charge and options to keep an MIP charge off your record.Our attorneys have successfully handled MIPs from across Southeast Michigan, so we understand the process and the law.
Fleeing and Eluding
Fleeing and Eluding is the failure to stop a motor vehicle or boat when a police or conservation officer directs you to do so, and it is a felony in Michigan.There are four degrees of the of the crime, with increasing levels of consequences.
Leaving the scene of an accident
Michigan law imposes several duties on a driver involved in a car accident. After an accident, a driver must;
- Give his or her name and address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is operating, including the name and address of the owner, to a police officer, the individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the vehicle with which he or she has collided;
- Exhibit his or her operator’s or chauffeur’s license to a police officer, individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the vehicle with which he or she has collided, and;
- Render to any individual injured in the accident reasonable assistance in securing medical aid or arrange for or provide transportation to any injured individual. The driver is not required to remain at the scene if that would be unsafe for the driver, but may make a report to the nearest authorities. MCL 257.619
There are several types of leaving the scene crimes, with escalating levels of consequences ranging from $100 fine to a year in jail depending on severity. Call us today to discuss your options.
An expungement is where a person has a conviction taken off his or her record, known in legal terms as a motion to set aside a conviction. An expungement allows a person to honestly tell prospective employers and schools that he or she has never been convicted of that crime. Not all crimes can be expunged. Contact us today to discuss whether your conviction is eligible for expungement.